cghs - central government health scheme

Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS)

The Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) is a comprehensive healthcare scheme provided by the Government of India for its employees and pensioners, as well as for Members of Parliament, Judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts, and other entitled categories. It was introduced in 1954 with the objective of providing comprehensive medical care to the central government employees and their families.

Objectives of CGHS:

  1. Healthcare Provision: CGHS aims to provide comprehensive healthcare facilities to its beneficiaries.

  2. Quality Healthcare: Ensuring access to quality healthcare services at affordable rates is a primary objective.

  3. Preventive Healthcare: Encouraging preventive healthcare measures among beneficiaries to promote overall wellness.

  4. Affordability: CGHS provides healthcare services at rates significantly lower than market rates, making it accessible to all eligible beneficiaries.

Services Offered:

  • Outpatient Services (OPD): CGHS provides outpatient consultation services at empanelled hospitals and dispensaries.

  • Inpatient Services (IPD): In cases where hospitalization is required, CGHS covers expenses for room charges, medical consultation, nursing care, and medicines.

  • Diagnostic Services: CGHS covers a wide range of diagnostic tests and procedures including laboratory tests, X-rays, MRIs, and CT scans.

  • Medicines: CGHS provides coverage for essential medicines prescribed during outpatient visits and hospitalization.

  • Specialist Consultations: Beneficiaries can avail specialist consultations for various medical conditions.

  • Emergency Services: CGHS provides emergency medical services to ensure immediate assistance during critical situations.

  • Health Camps and Wellness Programs: CGHS organizes health camps and wellness programs to promote preventive healthcare measures.

Empanelled Healthcare Providers:

CGHS empanels a wide network of hospitals, clinics, diagnostic centers, and pharmacies to provide healthcare services to beneficiaries. These empanelled facilities adhere to strict quality standards set by CGHS.


  1. Central Government Employees: All serving employees of the central government are eligible for CGHS benefits.

  2. Pensioners: Retired central government employees who were CGHS beneficiaries during their service period are eligible for CGHS benefits.

  3. Members of Parliament, Judges, etc.: Other entitled categories including Members of Parliament, Judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts, and their families are also eligible.

How to Avail CGHS Benefits:

  1. Enrollment: Eligible individuals need to enroll themselves and their family members for CGHS benefits.

  2. CGHS Card: Upon enrollment, beneficiaries receive a CGHS card which is required to avail of healthcare services.

  3. Hospital/Diagnostic Center Selection: Beneficiaries can choose from the list of empanelled hospitals, clinics, and diagnostic centers for healthcare services.

  4. Claim Process: CGHS beneficiaries can claim reimbursement for expenses incurred on healthcare services as per the guidelines provided.


CGHS plays a crucial role in providing accessible and affordable healthcare services to central government employees, pensioners, and other entitled categories. By ensuring quality healthcare provision, promoting preventive healthcare measures, and covering a wide range of medical services, CGHS contributes significantly to the welfare of its beneficiaries.

जम्मू अस्पताल के अन्य इम्पैनल्मेंट

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *